Stonewall annoucned today the shortlist for their 2011 awards.  The shortlist is detailed in full at the bottom of this post – the sixth ever awards and due to be held in November at the glamerous V&A. 

The awards celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last 12 months.

The sixth annual Stonewall Awards ceremony, hosted by Stephen K Amos, takes place on Thursday 3 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £150 + VAT. To book your ticket visit or contact Maria Anna Petrou on 020 7593 2294.

Entertainer of the Year

• Christopher Plummer (Beginners)
• Harry Derbridge (The Only Way is Essex, ITV2)
• Jane Hazlegrove (Casualty, BBC1)
• Jessie J
• Matt Smith (Christopher and His Kind, BBC2)

 Broadcast of the Year

• Torchwood (BBC1)
• Lip Service (BBC3)
• The Night Watch (BBC2)
• Jamie’s Dream School (C4)
• The World’s Worst Place to be Gay (BBC3)

 Publication of the Year

• People Management
• Nursing Standard
• Derby Telegraph
• Guardian Weekend

 Journalist of the Year

• Matthew Cain (C4 News)
• Vanessa Feltz (Radio 2, Daily Express, BBC London)
• Grizelda (Private Eye, The Spectator)
• Matthew Todd (Attitude)
• Phil Reay-Smith (Daybreak, ITV1) Writer of the Year
• Jodi Picoult, Sing You Home
• Eleanor Catton, The Rehearsal
• Alan Hollinghurst, The Stranger’s Child
• Phillip Hensher, King of the Badgers
• Ali Smith, There but for the

 Politician of the Year

• Chris Bryant MP
• Nigel Evans MP
• Ruth Davidson MSP
• Helen Mary Jones
• Jeremy Browne MP

 Sportsperson of the Year

• Steven Davies
• Anton Hysen
• Lawn Tennis Association
• The Gay Outdoor Club
• Ben Cohen