Law and Sexuality

A commentary and resource on Law and Sexuality by Professor Chris Ashford and guests

Getting it wrong

Sometimes we get it wrong.  I got it wrong yesterday evening in this post about Tom Daley.  With some attempt at humour, I sought to explore the mood of many regarding the ‘is he/isn’t he’ question regarding Tom Daley’s sexuality.   I aimed to point out that it is our very speculation (which of course, I was part of) which makes any exploration of a sexuality other than the normative, near impossible for Daley.  Thus, if he is gay – my reasoning followed – we’d probably never know.  Indeed, we would never know what ‘label’ he ascribes to his sexuality or how he defines himself.  I do think it’s important how we define our sexuality.  Anybody who has ever thought “it’s only me’ needs no further exploration.  Whilst I think that ‘gay’ and ‘straight’ are over simplistic labels, I do think open – and public – discussions about our sexuality are important for freedom of sexuality to prevail.

My post received some nice comments, but it also received some very negative comments.  People whose opinion I value found the post ill-judged and offensive.  When certain people say that, it’s right to pause and reflect.

I hope, as I’ve explained above, my intention is clear in that I did not set out to offend.  Nonetheless, I deeply regret any offence caused.  I’ve reflected on the post over-night and whilst I still think I had a sound reason to post, that rationale did not clearly come across.

Sometimes we get it wrong.  I hope that by holding our hands up and admitting when we – when I – get it wrong, it makes me a better blogger in the long run.  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2012 by in blog, Community, Identity, Tom Daley.

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

