Law and Sexuality

A commentary and resource on Law and Sexuality by Professor Chris Ashford and guests

Gong Time

It’s that time of year when the mantelpiece has a quick dust and re-arrange to make room for the accumulation of celeb gongs and awards.  Yet again, I obviously share your shock (not really) at being over-looked.

Anyway, the Independent published their annual Pink List yesterday which you can check out here.

Last week also saw the Annual Stonewall Awards which seemed to court some controversy with their ‘Bigot of the Year’ category.  The full list of winners consists of:

Hero of the Year (supported by PwC) – Reverend Giles Fraser

Broadcast of the Year (supported by London Women’s Clinic) – Britain’s Got Talent

Entertainer of the Year – Sue Perkins

Journalist of the Year – Hugo Rifkind (The Times) and Owen Jones (The Independent)

Politician of the Year – Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year –

Sports Award of the Year – Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?)

Community Group of the Year (supported by Square Peg Media and the Inclusive Foundation) – East London Out Project

Bigot of the Year – Cardinal Keith O’Brien

You can read more about the Stonewall awards here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in awards, Community, Identity.

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: