Many thanks to Gary Freeman for alerting me to this.  I’ve previously written about the exciting Fairoaks Project back in 2010 (check out the post here)  and you can read more about it here.

6.7FairOaksBanner

Frank Melleno’s Polaroid photography captured an extraordinary glimpse into pre-AIDS gay sexual culture. Melleno was part-owner and night manager of The Fairoaks Hotel, a unique San Francisco bathhouse operating from 1977 to 1979.

I bought the book accompanying the show back in 2010 and they make for remarkable viewing – a truly historical catalogue of sexuality.  Yet, that’s not quite the same as viewing them in a gallery setting and June sees the project making an appearance in San Francisco.  The Center for Sex and Sexuality will be hosting the show with the opening reception taking place at 7pm on June 7th.  I only wish I was going!

