A couple of weeks ago, I delivered by inaugural professorial lecture.  I talked a little about that in advance of the lecture here.  It was great to see so many friends and colleagues come along and I enjoyed the evening.  My initial feeling was that I was a little unhappy with the lecture.  Last minute nerves had meant I re-organsied most of the lecture in the hours before I delivered it, and I wasn’t happy with the final result.  See students, it’s not just you this happens to.  Nonetheless, friends and strangers alike were kind with their feedback.

CiHT3rcWUAAOkRu
Photo by @alexandermaine7

The lecture was entitled ‘The Militant Homosexual: Historic Reflections and Future Directions in the Regulations of Sex(uality)’ and was designed to address the claim by one Conservative MP that I was evidence of a ‘militant’ or ‘aggressive’ homosexual community as had been suggested during the passing of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act 2013.  I explored historical legal developments from the Wolfenden Report in 1957 through to the Psychoactive Substances Act 2016.

CiL7iTXXIAIdm-X
Photo by @WatkinsonC

Like any good lecture from a ‘militant homosexual’, the lecture started with a soundtrack for those waiting in the room as they finished up their pre-lecture wine (something that is deemed mandatory for members of the public to consume before facing an academic lecture) and you can have a listen to it via Apple Music here (sorry none Apple Music folks).  I went with tracks to make people smile, set the tone and theme of the lecture and also one or two to energise me (King by Years and Years was essentially there to do this).

Track listing:

Born This Way, Lady Gaga  (what else could you start with, right?)

Bad Boys, Alexandra Burke (tell me about it hun)

S&M, Rihanna (a suggestion from a former student and it seemed apt)

Ménage a Trois, Alcazar (adore this track and the lyrics make me smile)

King, Years & Years (Ok, time to get in the zone, be gone horrid nerves)

Euphoria, Sweden (buzzing and had to get a Eurovision track in)

Firework, Katy Perry (bang, now we’re off…)

There was a 30 minute pre-lecture drinks slot and the above tracks come toe exactly, yes, 30 minutes.  Entirely by a accident rather than rigorous editing and planning I can assure you.

As for the substance of the lecture, you can see the slides below:

I also provided a handout as part of the lecture which you can view below:

