Straight Expectations: Research Call

shout-out

Julie Bindel has issued a call for participants for a survey as part of a book she’s publishing next year with Guardian Books.

Here’s what Julie says:  ‘I am writing a book for the Guardian & Faber on lesbian and gay issues and would really appreciate your help. Would you consider filling in this survey? You will remain anonymous but if you would be interested in a one-to-one telephone or Skype interview in a few weeks time please leave your contact details in the comment section at the end of the survey.’

The survey can be accessed here.

I appreciate that many of you will not want to be involved in anything that Julie is engaged in, and might even wish that I wasn’t promoting the survey.  I’m certainly aware of that criticism – and I disagree with Julie Bindel on a number of issues, as long-standing readers of this blog will know.  However, the book is going to happen and the research is going ahead.  As a researcher, I want that to be as informed and inclusive of opinion as possible.  Of course, I can’t control how that research is presented but I’m not sure what is to be gained by not taking part.  Anyway, the survey is linked above 🙂

5 thoughts on “Straight Expectations: Research Call

  1. It’s… a really badly constructed survey, sorry to say. Might still be worth taking though, from the point of view of getting the largest sample size possible to (hopefully) help even out some of the issues.

  2. I’ll bite, Julie – I think that it’s a bit too simplistic to really get to the heart of the issue of the different types of prejudice and struggle that I sense are faced by gay men vs lesbians. I can appreciate that surveys are by their nature imperfect, but some areas seem to ‘lead the witness’ rather by giving them background information, and others leave the questions just hanging there without context.

  3. Lost me at the gender field. Which was the first question. Also doesn’t it get old and tiresome to only talk about just one half of the queer population? There is much more queer related diversity than just gay men and lesbians.

Leave a comment